Reason #752 Why I am a bad dad

The popular consensus seems that Frozen has cursed parents around the world.  Yes, I am able to recite every line and sing every lyric because of the continual loop that the movie plays in our home.  Or should I say, “played” until now.  We actually had a few days off without a Frozen viewing.  I’m the one who brought it back.    You see, it’s around 90 minutes of kids being occupied, that allows me to do other things.  The movie is not just for watching but is an interactive experience for the whole family.  Here is where I take parenting badness to a new level.  I recite every word and sing all the songs with the kids while not paying attention to the movie at all.  I can do things like reading, playing games on my phone, folding laundry, zoning out or even writing this blog.  So my children think I’m interacting with them.  This is my revenge for all the times that I spend talking to a brick wall, er, I mean, my kids.

As usual, my 3 year old must have sensed weakness.  He just took off out of the room and is trying to wake up my wife.  I need to take off and retrieve the human alarm.

He agreed to come back only after I said I would say all the lines if he didn’t come downstairs with me.  That is a major violation in his eyes.  I am continually reminded not to say the lines but am allowed to sing the songs.

You see, today’s viewing was initiated after he woke me up at 4am for breakfast and to watch the Grinch cartoon twice.  Then a request for chocolate milk.  He also has been playing on the iPad with a never-ending dialogue that I’m continually asked to confirm his statements and comment on the TV, iPad or general philosophies of life.  And I admit, all of these early morning activities contribute to the reasons that I am a bad parent.  I think I’ve violated at least 6 recommendations that I, as a pediatrician, am supposed to make to parents.

Oh and by the way: I suggested Frozen this morning and I am the one who started the soundtrack in the car yesterday.  I still like Frozen and exist in a state somewhere between thoroughly entertained and driven slightly insane by the movie and or kids.

Leave a comment